Short & Sweet

(Pictured above is an example of street art you can find in and around the University of Edinburgh. This one was my favorite I’ve seen so far!)

Hi readers!

So this week’s blog is going to be a bit shorter than normal because I’m feeling a bit under the weather currently. The past couple of weeks have been a bit routine compared to the beginning of my adventures here in Scotland, however, I have to say my favorite part of my entire study abroad experience so far has been the privilege to get to know Edinburgh so deeply. Now, there’s much more for me to explore before I leave, but I feel though I have developed a growing friendship with this city that I will treasure for years to come. I’m so excited to continue to discover more as I spend my last couple months here! (that’s a scary sentence)

In other news, this Friday evening, a couple of ISU students and I will be embarking on a little Europe excursion! 20 days, 7 cities, 5 countries, 3 ISU students. I’m could not be more elated for this journey to finally begin. As I move from city to city, at the end of each week I’ll still be uploading my weekly blogs so I’ll be sure to give you my insight of each destination that we explore as we go!

We started planning our trip back in at the beginning of February and it seemed like an eternity until it would finally arrive, but now we are less than 5 days away. It seems surreal to me that one of my life long dreams of backpacking Europe is actually going to happen, I’m so thankful for this opportunity and I hope you guys are excited to follow along with my journey for the next few weeks!

Erica’s Espresso Exploration

For this week’s coffee shop review, I visited Press Coffee, a tiny coffee shop right next door to University of Edinburgh’s campus.

Coffee: 5 out of 5 stars

I had my coffee of choice, a cappuccino, at Press Coffee per usual. This coffee shop did not disappoint one bit in this category, the foam to milk ratio in this cappuccino was wonderful and the espresso was just the right amount of bitter. I also love that the barista did a simple heart as a finishing touch on the cappuccino. In Edinburgh I have found that latte/cappuccino art is not very common so I enjoyed this little surprise as the perfect touch to one of the best cappuccinos I’ve had thus far.

Atmosphere: 4.5 out of 5 stars

I loved the atmosphere of this place! It was a smaller establishment, but had a good amount of seating available. The tables were a bit awkward in their arrangement so it made getting around a bit difficult, but once you were seated, it was absolutely lovely. Press Coffee has large windows that allow natural light to stream in every nook and cranny of the shop, so, it gave the room a light and airy feel.

Electronics: 0 out of 5 stars

OUCH. This was quite the catch with this lovely establishment. There was no wifi available and I did not see one outlet in the entire place! Such a disappointment in this regard, however now that I know this about Press Coffee, I’ll really only go to that coffee shop for simply a cup of coffee, not to get work done as I usually do at coffee shops. It’s all about expectations, folks!

Food: Not Applicable (this time)

I did see a guy eating a delicious-looking panini, so I’ll have to try one when I get the chance to go back to Press Coffee!

 

Thanks for reading and Happy Easter everyone!

 

 

One thought on “Short & Sweet

Leave a Reply

